Meet Your EEC Vol. 6: GAIL BROECKEL

How did you get started with the National Cherry Blossom Festival, and how many years have you been volunteering with us?

The Cherry Blossom Festival is a sentimental family activity.  I have enjoyed walking around the tidal basin and seeing the beautiful pink trees since I was a child.  I have volunteered for the festival on and off over the years. For the past five years, I have rarely missed an event.

Why did you want to join the EEC?

I love everything associated with the cherry blossoms. I have a passion for volunteering. The gift of time is the best gesture you can give a person/organization.  Since I feel a part of the “pink family” I am happy to be a part of a team that will help make each event successful.

 

What is a fun fact about you?

I am obsessed with tiaras and cows.

 

What is your favorite part about being a National Cherry Blossom Festival Volunteer?

Volunteering allows an inside view to amazing culture and experiences.

 

What would you say to someone thinking about volunteering with the National Cherry Blossom Festival? Any words of wisdom?  

If you want to volunteer for an amazing organization, the festival is one of the best places to share your time.  I see the same familiar faces each year. When you feel appreciated, you return as a volunteer.

 

What do you do when you’re not volunteering with the National Cherry Blossom Festival?

I manage social media accounts and plan events.  You can follow me on twitter @Lobby4you.

 

What is your favorite National Cherry Blossom Festival memory?

I don’t know how to select just one memory.  I love watching the cherry blossom balloons being blown up before the parade.  I enjoy seeing the performances at the opening ceremony.

 

Any wishes for future National Cherry Blossom Festivals?

I hope that tickets sell out at each event and that crowds are larger than previous years. There are so many awesome activities leading up to and during the festival.

cherryblossmofam

Gail pictured here as a child with her family at the Tidal Basin

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

