Meet Your EEC: Erica Bellavia

How did you get involved with the National Cherry Blossom Festival?

I started volunteering during the Centennial Celebration in 2012 in an effort to gain event planning experience for career enhancement. I enjoyed the experience so much that I’ve volunteered every year since! This coming year will be my sixth.

 

Why did you want to join the Event Execution Committee (EEC)?

Now that I have more personal time in my schedule, I want to get more involved with NCBF and its events!

 

What is a fun fact about you?

I am a huge fan of the original Star Wars trilogy. I have been able to recite the opening text crawl from “Return of the Jedi” (verbatim) since I was three years old.

 

What is your favorite part about being a National Cherry Blossom Festival Volunteer?

It is amazing to be a part of such a rich cultural event. The people are amazing, and there is no better way to welcome spring to the DC area!

 

Any words of wisdom to share with someone thinking about volunteering with the National Cherry Blossom Festival?

Do it! If you have the time, volunteer for as many different events as possible. It will give you a great picture of the Festival’s scope. And be prepared for ALL types of weather – March and April in DC can be so unpredictable!

 

What do you do when you’re not volunteering with the National Cherry Blossom Festival?

When I am not volunteering for the Festival, I am focusing on my job as a meeting planner with a scientific non-profit organization. I have an amazing family (including the happiest Golden Retriever ever) that I love spending time as much time with as possible. I enjoy cooking, football (Go Steelers!), action movies, and fine dining.

 

What is your favorite National Cherry Blossom Festival Memory?
My favorite memory of the Festival was attending my first Pink Tie Party as a guest (not a volunteer) in March 2016. It was a blast!

pink-carpet-2015

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

